Elaine Walker was named club person of the year and Michelle Kirkwood was volunteer of the year when Wauchope Bonny Hills Surf Club celebrated its presentation at the Bonny Hills clubhouse on Saturday night. 

And in a well-received presentation, highly respected administrator Jan Clingeleffer was awarded life membership for her service to the club for well over a decade. 

Walker was the recipient of the Chalkie Bob Smith Award for her dedication to the competition portfolio, the organising and running of the successful Rainbow Gold and other major club events. 

Kirkwood was acknowledged for her behind-the-scenes work for the club across a number of key areas.  

Both were highly deserving of their individual gongs. 

Peter Alchin, 90 hours, and Michelle Butt, 75 hours, were named the highest voluntary patrol hour award winners – both are popular members of the club. 

Top patrol hours were: Peter Alchin 90hrs, Michelle Butt 77.5hrs, Flynn Charge 76hrs, Leanne Goggin 63hrs, Jock Garven 61hrs, Jason Sawyer 61hrs, Paul Hoole 59.6hrs, Peter Smith 59.5hrs, Gayl Ellis 56hrs, Nathan O’Brien 51.5hrs. 

The presentation kicked off club president Richard McGovern presenting Clingeleffer with life membership. In an emotional speech, McGovern praised the administrator for her dedication to surf life saving and the club itself. 

“When this club was looking to secure funding for our wonderful clubhouse, Jan came onboard and really pushed through many barriers to get this over the line,” the president said. 

“When we did receive the news, we were both a bit emotional about it all; it was something that had been a few years in the making. 

“Apart from being an excellent administrator, Jan also has a deep understanding of the surf life saving movement and what success at surf club level looks like.” 

Special guests at the presentation were members of the all-conquering 2005/06 boat crew, Justin Stewart, Boyd Hetherington, Jason Armstrong, Brandon Armstrong and Manfred Sonntag. 

During that successful season, the boat crew was second in the Warriors on Water Open Boat (State of Origin between NSW and Qld crews); first in the MNC Branch Championships Open Boat; second in the NSW State Championships Masters 140 years; third in the Australian Championships Masters 120 years; and, first in the North Coast Open Boat Premiership. 

Other significant award winners included: 

Rex Clark Memorial Shield for outstanding patrol, Patrol 7, Gayl Ellis, Richard McGrath, Debra Tougher, Peter Fallon, Ellie Fallon, Jack Fallon, Imogen Deutscher, Tia McGrath, Natalie Mitchell, Milly McGrath and Kashia McGrath. 

Family patrol of the year, Jason Sawyer, Bodhi Sawyer and Trudy Edgerton. 

Club Rookie of the Year, Flynn Charge. 

Allan Barlin Shield for Sportsperson of the Year, Rhys Evans. 

Masters Sports Award, Keith Charles. 

Surf craft competitor of the year, Chayce Anderson. 

Club championships – open winner, Rhys Evans. 

Team of the year, Mixed Masters March Past Team – Michelle Kirkwood, Leanne Goggin, Gayl Ellis, Rhys Evans, Nathan O’Brien, Belinda Clarke, Michelle Butt, Debra Tougher, Dale Mowbray and Peter Smith. Tom Inatey. 

Grahame Buckley Memorial surf boat rower of the year, Myles Geddes and Lucy Monaghan. 

Dan Roods Memorial Trophy for Boat Crew of the Year, The Kockatoos, Myles Geddes, Matt and Jack Chapman, Jordie Gibson and Steve Monaghan. 

The Simon Stennett Memorial for young surf boat rower of the year, Jordie Gibson, Maddy Major. 

Boat captain’s award, Nick Player. 

Coach of the year, Adam Smith. 

U17 club person of the year, Tia McGrath. 

Ted Strong was presented the Club president’s award, while past president Ian Lathan was also acknowledged for his service to the club. 

Scroll to Top