Presentation Night 2017 – Photos

Wednesday, May 31, 2017 @ 09:23


Simon Stennett was remembered in a special way last Saturday night at the Wauchope Bonny Hills Surf Life Saving Club annual presentation at the end of the season.

Simon, aged 34, was a much-loved and highly-respected lifesaver and member of a club surfboat crew.  He rowed his last race at South West Rocks on Saturday October 29 2016 before he passed away suddenly.

Club president, Peter Smith said Stenno will always be remembered as a dedicated, passionate rower and surf lifesaver.  He was affectionately known as Mr Reliable.

A new award for the 2016-17 season was presented in his memory.  The Isaacs and Cole Chartered Accountants Simon Stennett Memorial Trophy for the Young Surf Boat Rower of the Year went to Michael Barnes.

The top patrolling members for people who did 45 and more hours in the season went to:

  • Michelle Butt
  • Rebecca Ellis
  • Keira Alchin
  • Grace Kuhnell
  • Gayl Elis
  • Debra Tougher
  • Leanne Goggin
  • Dolly Bligh-Jones
  • Bronwyn Davidson
  • Carissa Davidson
  • Elaine Walker
  • Marie Louise O’Neill
  • Raquel Sale
  • Paul Hoole
  • Peter Alchin
  • Trent Seale
  • Gary Hawkins
  • Dr John Vaughan
  • Ethan Alchin
  • Michael Barnes
  • Stephen Green
  • Steve Robinson
  • Jeremy Bate
  • Greg Jamieson
  • Peter Daniels
  • Ethan Green

President Peter Smith described their efforts as a fantastic achievement.

“Lifesaving is our club’s core business and to achieve our goals, we require skilled lifesavers to be on patrol,” he added.

The Rex Clark Memorial Shield for outstanding patrol went to Patrol 5, The Muzza Patrol: Dr Murray Schofield, Catherine Griffiths, Tony Meath, Macklin Dawes, Coy McNiff, Jess Seymour and Ben Dickson.

The Claude Cassegrain Perpetual Trophy for highest patrol hours went to Paul Hoole, 72 hours and Michelle Butt, 64.5 hours.

The First National Real Estate North Haven Club Rookie of the Year was awarded to Peter Alchin, described as a dynamic, dedicated and committed club member.

The president’s award for outstanding contribution to the club went to Dolly Bligh-Jones, Glen Stewart, Jeremy Bate, Pat Kelleher, Trent Seale, Steve Robinson and Leanne Goggin.

The under 17 club persons were Hugh Stewart, Rowan Cornell, Rebecca Ellis and Taylor Sargent.